On January 1, 2020, state law AB 1482 (California Tenant Protection Act) went into effect. AB 1482 caps rent increases statewide for qualifying units at either 5% plus the increase in the regional CPI, or 10% of the lowest rent charged at any time during the 12 months prior to the increase-whichever is less. Additionally (and subject to the rent cap), rent may only be raised twice over any 12 month period. AB 1482 does not override more restrictive city and county rent controls, but it may apply to units they don't cover. Here is a chart of California cities and counties that have rent control laws, with information on what those laws say. Information about limits on evictions and other protections for renters is below the chart. Keep in mind that the chart provides partial summaries of the law, and that additional details may be relevant to your situation. For more information on the many local ordinances that affect rent and evictions, including relocation assistance and owner move-ins, see our detailed Rent Control Chart for California. Alameda Landlords are limited to the base rent charged as of 9/1/19 plus the Annual General Adjustment (AGA). For tenancies beginning after 9/1/19, the base rent is the initial rent amount. The AGA is calculated using 70% of the regional Consumer Price Index (CPI), with a 1% floor and 5% ceiling. Each year in May the Program Administrator announces the AGA effective September 1. The AGA for 9/1/19 is 2.8%. Alameda, California Code of Ordinances §§ 6-58.70 - 6-58.135
Berkeley 65% of the regional CPI, once per year. Landlord or tenant may petition for exception. Berkeley Municipal Code §§ 13.76.110 - 13.76.120
Beverly Hills Landlord may increase rent once every 12 months, limited to 3% or the regional CPI, whichever is higher. Beverly Hills Municipal Code § 4-6-3
City of Commerce Increases may not exceed 3% per 12 month period. City of Commerce Emergency Ordinance No. 689 and Extending Ordinance No. 696. The ordinances will expire when permanent rent control is enacted.
Culver City The rent as of 6/11/19 on then-existing tenancies, or the initial rent charged on tenancies beginning thereafter, is the "base rate" from which increases are calculated. Increases are capped at 3% annually, and rent may only be raised once in any 12 month period. Culver City Municipal Code Ordinance No. 2019-011. The ordinance will expire either on 6/10/20 or when permanent rent control is enacted.
East Palo Alto 80% of the percentage increase in the regional CPI. Overall increase may not exceed 10% in any 12-month period. East Palo Alto, California Code of Ordinances §§ 14.04.040, 14.04.090 - 100
Gardena Increases exceeding 5% are subject to mediation and binding arbitration. Gardena Municipal Code §§ 14.04.010 - 14.04.300
Hayward 5% per year absent exception. Landlords may “bank” increases, but aggregate rent increases cannot exceed 10% in any year. Hayward Municipal Code §§ 12:1.01 - 12:1.21
Inglewood The base rent amount for calculations is the rent in effect on 6/18/19 or the initial rent for tenancies starting thereafter. Only one increase is allowed every 12 months, calculated from the day the increase first takes effect. Increases are capped at 5% of base rent, or the percentage increase of the Regional Consumer Price Index (CPI), whichever is greater. Units with a base rent less than 80% of CPI may increase rent by up to 8% per year until the rent reaches 81% of average rent as published by RENTcafe. City of Inglewood Ordinance No.: 19-13 Los Angeles Only one increase allowed every 12 months based upon the regional CPI. Effective July 1, 2019, the annual allowable increase is 4%. Los Angeles Municipal Code §§ 151.00 - 155.09
Unincorporated Los Angeles County 3% annual limit on rent retroactive to base rents on 9/11/18. Only one rent increase allowed annually. Starting 4/1/20, allowable annual increases are based on the change in the regional CPI up to a total of 8% including passthroughs and fees. Interim Rent Stabilization Ordinance No. 2019-0018 remains in effect until 3/31/20. Chapter 8.52 -- Rent Stabilization becomes effective 4/1/20.
Los Gatos Rent may be increased only once annually and the increase cannot exceed the greater of 5% of existing rent or 70% of the regional CPI. Landlord can always increase rent with the written consent of tenants. Los Gatos Town Code §§ 14.80.010 - 14.80.315
Mountain View Rents may be raised starting September 1st each year by board-determined amount that is no less than 2%, nor more than 5%, of the existing rent. Landlords may “bank” rent increases. Mountain View Code of Ordinances § 1707
Oakland Only one increase annually based upon the regional CPI or prior “banked” increases. Owners must petition Rent Adjustment Program (RAP) for increases exceeding CPI. Oakland Municipal Code § 8.22.065 et seq.
Palm Springs Only one increase annually, limited to 75% of the increase in the regional CPI. Rent control is permanently removed after tenant voluntarily vacates or is evicted for cause. As a result, few properties remain subject to rent control. Palm Springs Municipal Code §§ 4.02.010 - 4.08.190
Richmond Rents may be raised starting September 1 each year by an amount equal to the regional CPI. Landlords and tenants may petition for upward and downward departures. Richmond Code of Ordinances §§ 11.100.010 - 11.100.130 Sacramento Rent increases cannot exceed 6% plus the percentage of annual increase in the cost of living adjustment promulgated by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. The total increase is capped at 10% annually, and only one increase is allowed in any 12 month period. Sacramento City Code §§ 5.156.010 - 5.156.150
San Francisco Yearly rent increases are limited to 60% of the regional CPI. San Francisco Administrative Code § 37.3
San Jose Annual increase generally may not exceed 5%. Landlord must petition for higher increase. San Jose Municipal Code §17.23.310
Santa Monica The Rent Control Board determines each year’s increase (“General Adjustment” or GA). The Maximum Allowable Rent (or MAR) for any unit is its base rent plus the increase allowed per the annual GA. A tenancy must be in place for at least one year before a GA is allowed. A GA may then be implemented the following September 1st or anytime thereafter. Santa Monica City Charter Amendment §§ 1800 - 1821
Thousand Oaks Very limited–for tenants in the same unit since 1987. Thousand Oaks Rent Stabilization Ordinances Nos. 755-NS, 956-NS, 1284-NS
Vallejo Vallejo has declared a state of emergency. A landlord cannot increase rent more than 10% from a unit's pre-emergency base rental price, which is the most recent price offered prior to the 7/3/19 declaration. If the unit was vacant, the base price is the fair market rent established by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Proclamation of Emergency by the Director of Emergency Services of the City of Vallejo Concerning Rental Housing Price Gouging. Vallejo Municipal Code Chapter 7.300.
West Hollywood 75% of the increase in the regional CPI during the preceding 12 months. West Hollywood Municipal Code §§ 17.36.020 et seq.
Property Subject to Rent Control Rent control laws apply to typical rental units, like an apartment within a complex. But not all rentals in California are subject to rent control. A 1995 state law, the Costa-Hawkins Rental Housing Act, says that local rent-control regulation doesn’t apply to single family homes, condominiums, and units built after February 1, 1995 (many ordinances also exempt properties built after their effective date). The Costa-Hawkins Act also allows “vacancy decontrol” of rent-controlled units, meaning landlords can raise rents to market levels when tenants move out (voluntarily or after being evicted for rent nonpayment). Other properties exempt from rent control include owner-occupied buildings with no more than three or four units (depending on local regulation), short-term rentals (think Airbnb), government-subsidized tenancies (Berkeley and San Francisco excluded), and detached (“granny”) units that could not be sold independent of the main house.
Evictions in Rent Control Areas A tenancy typically ends either when a fixed-term lease expires or after a landlord or tenant in a month-to-month lease gives notice. A landlord can legally ask a tenant to vacate the rental in either situation, without specifying a reason (but cannot do so if the reason is retaliation for the tenant having exercised a tenant right, or for a discriminatory reason). But for rent control to work—especially since landlords can raise rent to market levels following a legitimate vacancy—the law must restrict the ability of landlords to evict. Otherwise, landlords could simply (and repeatedly) evict current tenants and rent to new tenants willing to pay higher rents. To head off this possibility, most rent control ordinances require “just cause”— acceptable reasons —to evict. Typical just cause reasons include:
violating a significant term of the lease—for example, failing to pay rent or allowing unauthorized roommates
engaging in illegal or prohibited activities like drug dealing, disturbing neighbors, or damaging property
the landlord wanting to move into the unit or have a family member do so, and
the landlord wanting to substantially remodel the property, which can’t be done with tenants living there. (Sometimes, landlords in this situation must offer tenants a similar unit that they own or the opportunity to re-rent the remodeled apartment at the same rent after the project.)
Landlords who violate these restrictions often face stiff civil and even criminal penalties.